WOMB, there it is.

Remember all those times I wrote about not wanting biological children?

whoomp

We’re all thinking it.

Like seriously though, all. of. those. times. Awkward.

There’s a moment that happens before I hit “submit” on any blog post, and it’s always something like this inner dialogue:

Okay, Emily. Did you say anything that you wouldn’t want your grandma to read?

No.

Okay, good start. Did you say anything that you wouldn’t want your boss to read?

Um, I don’t think so?

Okay, swell. Final question. Did you say anything that could affect your husband or future children?

…….

Welp. Here we are, people. And it only took about four little blue plus signs, a blood test, and an ultrasound to convince me that it’s true.

merp

No time for an artsy picture, people! I’m too busy hyperventilating and staring at the pee stick like it’s written in Egyptian hieroglyphics.

I’m pregnant.

I can say all the beautiful things about God’s plan and God’s timing and God in the details, and it’s all true. And you know, I may never have pictured myself pregnant, but life is always a blessing, even when it’s unexpected. Jon and I are thrilled to welcome this little sprout into the world.

That being said, we will be putting our plans of fostering-to-adopt on hold temporarily. We both have a heart for foster care and adoption, and we pray that this will be a part of our story in the future. Thank you to everyone who has supported us in this adventure thus far! Your prayers are greatly appreciated, both for us and for all children who need a home.

I will continue to post updates and all of the hilarious details here on the blog. Thank you to all of our family and friends for the prayers and support throughout this unexpected journey!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Jon & Emily


Okay. Obviously the above section is a little dated at this point. Pregnancy brain has officially taken over, and I’ve neglected this little blog for a few months. Wondering what I’ve been up to? Head over to The Gospel Economist, and read my two latest posts there:

  • Talking with Teenagers: If you know me, you know that I love my sweet teenagers. And honestly, do we ever grow out of being teenagers?
  • What are we waiting for?: Just a little story about one of my all-time favorite people in one of my all-time favorite places. SPOILER ALERT: It’s my dad in my hometown.

What else, you ask?

Jon and I are excited to announce that our little sprout is…

oh-boy

… a B O Y!

From the very first day (yep, the day of all the pee sticks), I have been convinced that this baby is a boy, and sure enough. His name is Judah Daniel, and we’re ready to welcome him into our home – but not for another 24 weeks or so.

What do we know about Judah so far? He is an active little man, always ready to show off during ultrasounds. He likes to do somersaults and wave his teensy hands. If my cravings are any indication, he will like red meat, dill pickles, cherry-flavored candy, and carbs. Little lion, you are already very loved!

Again, thank you to everyone who is keeping us in their prayers. We are blessed to have such loving and supportive family and friends. Happy Advent, everyone. Peace be with you during this season of waiting.

Jon, Emily & Judah

P.S. Need some humor in your life? Enjoy a few laughs on me.

preggo-final

Shout-out to Ashlynn for dealing with my crazy. Pregnancy is weird, people. Really weird.

 

Leave a Reply

